Carmen’s Hot Jobs, Vol 1, No. 8

By Carmen Lapham, Director of Recruiting and Operations

Writing this blog every week has given me a whole new perspective on what my job is all about and on the value that Q4B brings or should bring to our client companies and our candidates. And since this blog is primarily candidate focused, it is my perspective on our relationship with our candidates that has begun to change.

Each time I write and post this blog I begin thinking about the next blog that I want to write. I have become more and more aware of trends in the recruiting industry, topics that are discussed on the various social media channels that we monitor, and the responses that those discussions solicit from the various group members who are engaged. I look for information, articles, other blogs, Tweets and books on any thing recruiting, talent acquisition, hiring and retention related.

Before I began to blog about the candidate experience, treating candidates as customers, promoting job ads that don’t suck and touting the various Hot Jobs that I highlight each week I felt that I was a passionate, experienced, dedicated recruiter who had been there and done that, who had seen the recruiting process work, who had done some things and seen others do some things that didn’t work and learned from those experiences good or bad.

I now know that as much experience in recruiting that I have, as much knowledge of the recruiting process that I know that I have there is so much more that I can learn about this business. And the more that I learn, the more that I can share with and pass on to the rest of our staff, the greater value we can offer our client companies and our candidates.

I have started asking myself and my staff the following questions as part of our debriefing when we close a job assignment, successful or not.

  • Did we have enough information from the client in order to conduct a successful search?
  • Did we have enough information from the candidate in order to properly screen and successfully present to the client?
  • Did we prepare the candidate for a successful interview?

Getting answers to these questions is how we get better, it is how our newer recruiters, sourcers and screeners learn and it is how with each engagement we become that much more of an asset to our clients and candidates. It is also how we insure that as much as possible we are not surprised by the results of our recruiting efforts going forward.

And now the information you have been waiting for, our Hot Jobs for this week!

  • Oracle EBS Manufacturing Consultant – And you thought you would have to join the Navy or become a long distance truck driver to see this much of the USA. Travel, Travel, Travel and a lot of emphasis WIP, BOM and WMS if you know what I mean.
  • Software Configuration Manager – This job is so HOT that I have mentioned it More than once in previous Hot Jobs Blogs. But remember if interested in this job get ready to explain what CTFL, ISTQB, CSQA and CSTE stand for.

So that is it for another week. I have already begun to think about next week’s blog. It may have something to do with interviewing and what our successful candidates always have with them.

No, not my cell phone number, but that is not a bad idea!

Til next week.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

