It May Be Time for a Tune Up

I took my car in for service over the long Memorial Day weekend. It was time for a tune up, to have the oil changed and to get the brakes checked. I like my car and have spent a good deal of money into purchasing, maintaining and insuring it. I know something about cars but I am not an expert. I trust the service mechanics at the dealership to keep the car in good shape and I have not been disappointed.

While I was waiting, I could not help but think about our company and how often we use “car” related terms in our marketing and sales presentations. When we talk about our Service, we use terms like “Optimize your Recruiting Engine”, “Drive your Recruiting process”  and “add horsepower to your recruiting effort”. In a sense firms like ours are the service advisors and mechanics for our respective clients recruiting vehicle.

I bring my car in for service several times a year in an effort to keep it running smoothly and to avoid any costly repairs in the future. Why shouldn’t our clients bring us in on a scheduled basis to make sure that their recruiting process is running smoothly and to avoid any costly repairs?

Let me suggest the following.

The recruiting process is made up of six components, Sourcing, Screening, Selection, Candidate Relationship Management, Requisition Management and Reporting and Metrics. See Recruiting Domain Framework™

For each component there are five levels of maturity, Ad Hoc, Repeatable, Defined, Managed and Optimized.

When I bring my car in for service, my mechanic looks at the engine, spark plugs, oil filter and level, brakes, tires and makes sure that all components are optimized. Since my dealer provides this service, the car’s maintenance history is available to the mechanic. They know what “state” the car was in and what “state” it is currently and what the desired “state” should be.

Your recruiting process should require the same attention and service. The current “state” is established with the first service call.  Then necessary repairs can be made to bring it to the desired “state”. Then on a scheduled basis, routine maintenance can be performed in order to keep your recruiting process running smoothly and to be fully optimized.

When they told me that my car was ready, I looked over the itemized bill and saw everything that was done. I felt confident that the car would run smoothly and I also felt that the cost of the service was fair and that I wasn’t being taken for a “ride”. I also knew that the next time I bring the car in for service, other services might be required, other parts of the car may need attention and that there is not just one solution for servicing a car.

This is also true of your recruiting process. There is not just one solution that satisfies every client’s recruiting process. Where the process is currently and where it should be to be fully optimized varies from client to client.

So, what about you and your recruiting process? Do you know the current “state” or what the desired “state” should be? Do you feel confident that your recruiting engine will run smoothly and that what you are spending is fair and returning the results for which you are paying? Or is that red light on the dashboard an indication that your recruiting engine is burning oil?

One response to “It May Be Time for a Tune Up

  1. Love, love, love the car repair analogy to recruiting!! Yes, ignoring that red light on the dashboard can, indeed, be quite costly to a company’s recruiting engine. For example, when an unfilled req goes from green to yellow to red and continues to age, production can slow down and workloads can become heavier causing burnout among existing staff. Another example would be a negative candidate interview experience. It’s like a slow oil leak in recruiting. Companies strive to be the employer of choice, but many of them put little focus on how candidate relationships are managed. Candidates are, indeed, colleagues in the industry who have the power to either help or hurt a company’s image. There are so many moving parts in the recruiting process. A recruiting consulting firm can apply it’s expertise to each and every part of the process and save a company money in the long run.

Leave a Reply

